為何與我們一同學習?

 
 
 
 
 

為何與我們一同學習?

對許多學生來說,與我們一起學習的一個重要原因是在於經濟。我們提供滿足國際優良標準的EAP研習會,費用僅僅是您前往加拿大、美國、澳大利亞或英國所需支付的一部分。根據一份最近的BBC報導,「菲律賓正快速地成為全世界的低成本英語老師 – 前來學習英語或在英語大學裡上課的海外學生迅速地增加。」在這個家庭預算緊蹙的時代裡,到菲律賓與我們一起研習學術英語會是一個吸引人、具有成本效益的選項。

多數的研究人員都同意在講英語的環境裡研習能夠大幅地加速學好這個語言。英語在整個菲律賓被廣泛使用,並且從小學到大學都作為正式的教學媒介。因此,當您與我們一起學習英語時,您在日常生活裡以及在研習會教室內都是曝露在北美洲風格的英語中。在學習第二語言的過程裡,曝露所扮演的角色實在太重要了。這不僅讓您能夠在真實情境下第一手地體驗這種語言,同時曝露也提供亞洲學生很少能夠在教室之外獲得的強化結果。

根據「教育測驗服務(ETS)」依照2010年TOEFL分數的排名,菲律賓在全世界163個國家中排在第35名。唯一其他分數高於菲律賓的亞洲國家是新加坡(全世界排名第3,98分)以及印度(第19名,92分)。馬來西亞與菲律賓共同位居第35名,分數為88分。

與我們一起研習的第三個理由是我們的學術主任及導師。I.G. MacDonald教授在加拿大的皇后大學(Queen’s University)於1997年得到文學士(榮譽)學位,於1999年獲得文碩士學位,並且在2003年他通過哲學博士(Ph.D)綜合考試。在2005年加入韓國檀國(Dankook)大學的教職之前,他在皇后大學英語學院以及首爾女子大學任教。從2005年起,一直到他在2016年退休,MacDonald教授在檀國大學英國語言及文學系、英語教育研究所、昂格魯-美洲人類學系以及TESOL研究所擔任英語寫作與修辭的資深外籍教授。

最後,但絕對不是最少,我們的設施是無與倫比的。座落於緊鄰美麗的伊洛伊洛河濱海大道的寧靜、安全混合建物,「巨橋研習會(Bridge Seminars)」擁有讓您認真研習學業所需要的一切。除了我們的空調研習會教室外,本校的特色在於範圍廣泛的學術資源圖書館、高速無線網際網路接取、個別的學習空間以及用於講學和簡報的現代多媒體套組。

Aspire-Strive-Achieve
Join us at the seminar table this semester.

Why Study with Us?

 
 
 
 
 

Why Study with Us?

For many students, an important reason for studying with us is economy. We offer EAP seminars that meet international standards of excellence for a fraction of what you would pay in Canada, the United States, Australia, or the United Kingdom. According to a recent BBC report,

“The Philippines is fast becoming the world’s low-cost English language teacher – with rapid increases in overseas students coming to learn English or study in English-speaking universities.”

In these times of strained family budgets, studying academic English with us in the Philippines is an attractive, cost-effective option.

Most researchers agree that studying in an English speaking environment greatly accelerates acquisition of the language. English is widely spoken throughout the Philippines, and it is used as an official medium of instruction from elementary school to university. Consequently, when you study English with us, you are exposed to North American style English during your daily routine as well as in the seminar room. The role of exposure in learning a second language cannot be over emphasized. Not only does it allow you to experience the language firsthand, in real situations, but exposure provides reinforcement, something Asian students rarely get outside the classroom.

According to an Educational Testing Service (ETS) ranking based on TOEFL scores for 2010, the Philippines ranked 35th out of 163 countries worldwide. The only other Asian countries to score higher than the Philippines were Singapore (ranked 3rd in the world with a score of 98), and India (19th with a score of 92). Malaysia tied the Philippines for 35th place with a score of 88.

A third reason to study with us is our academic director and head teacher. Professor I.G. MacDonald was awarded a Bachelor of Arts (honors) degree from Queen’s University in Canada in 1997, a Master of Arts degree in 1999, and in 2003 he passed the comprehensive examination for a Ph.D. Before joining the faculty of Dankook University in Korea in 2005, he taught at Queen’s University School of English and Seoul Women’s University. From 2005 until he retired in 2016, Professor MacDonald was Senior Foreign Professor of English Composition and Rhetoric in Dankook University’s Department of English Language and Literature, Graduate School of English Education, Department of Anglo-American Humanities, and Graduate School of TESOL.
 
Last, but certainly not least, our facilities are second-to-none. Situated in a quiet, secure compound next to the beautiful Iloilo River Esplanade, Bridge Seminars has everything you need for serious academic study. In addition to our air-conditioned seminar room, the school features a comprehensive academic resource library, high-speed wireless internet access, individual study spaces, and a modern multi-media suite for lectures and presentations.

Aspire-Strive-Achieve
Join us at the seminar table this semester.